1 2 3 
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Like the seasons, major news stories and events come and go, but trying to explain why these stories virtually disappear from the media and our attention isn't easy.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Crucial conversations in the workplace don't have to cost you sleep. Learn these five steps and you'll be ready for your next difficult conversation.

From time to time, we remember why local news is still important and we got another sad reminder last weekend.

Doing a great media interview starts long before the reporter asks the first question. It begins with preparation, so here's how to get ready.

Edmonton Northlands is on life support, but it was a huge part of my teenage years and those memories will live on.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

The person who controls a conversation isn't the one doing all the talking, it's the person asking great questions. It's a powerful concept to understand and use.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

A friend recently asked me what goes on in a media training session. That's a pretty basic question, but one I don't think I ever fully answered in print, so here goes....

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

The recent death of famed Edmonton photographer Con Boland brought up the thorny issue of dealing with the news media during a time of grief.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

The next time you prepare for a media interview, put yourself in the shoes of the reporter. If you can anticipate the questions you'll get, the interview will become much easier.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Much like playing golf and hitting a tee shot to a par 3 green about 50 feet below, TV interviews done with people standing provide a much different prospective than if they are sitting.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

There's a troubling trend in communication. People are using useless words far too often. So stop it!

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Compared to today, media outlets we read, watched and listened to were awful in the 1960's.But we liked it that way.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Good public relations has never been more important than it is today, but it is not a cure all for everything.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

I respect the work done by numerous Board of Directors, but the reality is, too few of them have written rules to follow and that needs to change.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Is it media training or communication training? The answer is - it's both.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Twitter has become a powerful tool for Donald Trump, so powerful he doesn't need the news media.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Before you have launch into your next difficult discussion at work, make sure you read these eight tips to make it a lot more comfortable.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Stop losing sleep at night before speaking to a boss, employee or co-worker. Follow these tips and you'll be fine when you have that difficult conversation.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Some of the news media coverage of Donald Trump has been shameful, but one thing is for sure - he is good for business.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

A survey on where Albertans get their political news from had some interesting, but not totally surprising results. Maybe traditional media isn't dead?

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

In the last year I have written 50 blogs. Here is my Top 10, based on the number of readers each week.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

I would be willing to bet more than 75% of companies are simply not ready to cope with a nasty pr problem that could lead to a social media meltdown.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Blogging can be fun, but it is also a lot of work. Here is what you need to know about writing a blog before you start one.

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

It has become clear one of the most important considerations of how big any news story will become is whether it has been caught on video.

1 2 3