1 2 3 4 5 
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

No surprise here - Facebook is the most popular social media site in Canada. Some of the other numbers from this survey may surprise you though.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

There are huge benefits for organizations to have their people do solid media interviews, but first they need to get over their fear of messing up.

I've written 100 blogs in the last two years and it's been an education. Here are four big lessons I've learned.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

From newspaper headlines to office conversations, extra words are used far too often. Please stop.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Kellyanne Conway's response to a question was a perfect illustration to show why people being interviewed should answer the question and not question it.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

The Humboldt Broncos bus crash story, as tragic as it was, followed a familiar pattern of what occurs during the coverage of major news stories.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

You were the one who invited Facebook into your personal life, so don't expect to say goodbye to Facebook so easily.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

A right-wing talk show host in the US and one of the biggest names in professional wrestling were both no match for the power of social media.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Police scanners will soon go silent and we'll be worse off for it. Except for police.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

In the story behind the firing of US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson lies a journalistic debate on the use of off-the-record statements.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

The recent high profile showdown between a lawyer and a Vancouver reporter was a great example of why many lawyers don't understand the media.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

When it comes to gun legislation in the US, small steps have been made in the last two weeks, all because of vocal students and social media.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

If you have a question about media training or answering questions from reporters, chances are I'll have the answer for you.

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

The high school shooting in Florida is still grabbing headlines. The authorities who spoke to the news media the morning after it happened deserve a great deal of credit for grace under pressure.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

We're less than a week into the winter Olympics, but already one thing is clear - Canadians have it pretty good when it comes to TV coverage.

Should members of corporate Boards and CEOs be concerned about what their companies are doing in social media? In a word, the answer is YES!

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

We rarely get into meaingful conversations in the workplace because they're scary and we don't know how to. Here's a plan to help you the next time you really need to talk to somebody.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Many employees don't like their jobs because of poor communication and bosses say communicating with their employees makes them uncomfortable. It's easy to see why communication in the workplace is such a problem.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Here's some simple advice if you're asked by a reporter if you can talk off the record - don't do it.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Traditional media has developed a growing attraction to some conversations on social media. I find it annoying and here's why.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Let's kick off a new year by doing an inventory of all the technology we use. My list is a long one.

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

The readers have spoken - here are my blogs that got the most reads in 2017.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

If you have a potential PR problem on your hands, take these four steps and yu'll feel a lot better. Information is power in any situation, especially one that could cripple your brand.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Too often people don't think of body language when they speak, or do interviews with the news media. A big part of what your body is saying relates to how you use your hands.

1 2 3 4 5