1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Monday, November 23, 2020

I've seen really bad backgrounds for media interviews done over video and some really good ones. Today I name my 3 stars for backgrounds from Canada's sports reporters.

Monday, November 16, 2020

We're more than eight months into the pandemic. Despite that, many TV networks produce horrible audio quality when interviewing their own people.

Monday, November 9, 2020

I done hundreds and hundreds of interviews, but for a change, I was interviewed. You can listen to it, or download the podcast.

Monday, November 2, 2020

TV networks have fallen into the trap of reading prepared statements on the air. Here's why they should stop.

Monday, October 26, 2020

Dr. Deena Hinshaw is the face of the pandemic in Alberta, but her Twitter account isn't doing her any favours lately.

Monday, October 19, 2020

Health Minister Tyler Shandro pulled the good 'ol Friday Afternoon News Dump trick and got called out for it by some of Alberta's mayors.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Politicians used to answer questions from reporters on a regular basis. Now it seems like answering a question is optional.

Monday, October 5, 2020

I got a COVID test last week and came away feeling better about the testing system than ever before.

Monday, September 28, 2020

A short, but controversial comment from an Alberta RCMP officer, has clearly shown why some people should speak to the media and others shouldn't.

Monday, September 21, 2020

These aren't easy days for Alberta Education Minister Adriana LaGrange. I feel sorry for her and here's why.

Monday, September 14, 2020

For months the COVID numbers being reported by Dr. Deena Hinshaw were taken as gospel. Now she has some competition from an unlikely source.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Alberta's Chief Medical Officer of Health has gone from hero to villain in the minds of many parents almost overnight.

Monday, August 31, 2020

When will things get back to normal? We've hard that question for months. Here's why we shouldn't hold our breath.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Issues management people for the Kenney government in Alberta have been riding Twitter shotgun for their Ministers. Here's why they should stop.

Monday, August 17, 2020

A park and ride lot on Edmonton's far southside sits empty. It should have opened months ago, but it's another City of Edmonton project that won't open on time.

Monday, August 10, 2020

A failed news conference last week by Alberta's Education Minister, showed why she needs to go back to media school.

Wednesday, August 5, 2020

As sports returns, we're learning new ways to do things during the pandemic. Some of them will save us a lot of money.

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

This is the 200th blog I've written. I started just over four years ago and there are a few lessons learned in that time.

Monday, July 20, 2020

In the last few months, thousands of people have been forced to do virtual presentations or webinars. Here are 10 ways to make sure you're not boring.

Monday, July 13, 2020

Whatever governments do to try to help us these days, you'll find people being critical. Is it the pandemic, social media, or our dislike for politicians?

Monday, July 6, 2020

As the NHL and MLB find ways to return to Canada, health officials who've told us to stay home for months, now seem to be okay with allowing players to come and go as they please.

Monday, June 29, 2020

Whether it's sports networks ignoring big stories, or political bias on American cable news networks and local talk radio, there are reasons some people are fed up with mainstream media.

Monday, June 22, 2020

Sports teams firing executives, people dying and the way the media handles gory stories have all changed. As a society, can we no longer handle the truth?

Monday, June 15, 2020

The lame statements coming from companies during the pandemic made me examine some of the canned lines spokespeople use when speaking to the media. They're just as weak.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7