1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Monday, January 25, 2021

Tim Hortons is marketing a new dark roast coffee. Again. It may be the most honest commercial ever made.

Monday, January 18, 2021

Have you listened to the questions reporters ask at news conferences? Why are some so long?

Monday, January 11, 2021

Nobody seems to be happy with Alberta Premier Jason Kenney these days. Maybe he's trying too hard?

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

It was a year that most of us would rather forget, but none of us will be able to. Here are my Top 10 blogs from 2020.

Monday, December 7, 2020

It's been ten years since Stephen Duckett uttered the famous words "I'm eating my cookie." Strange as it may seem, he might have played a role in the eventual rollout of the coronavirus vaccine in Alberta.

Monday, November 30, 2020

Should governments across Canada be communicating COVID in a different, more creative way? Would it make a difference?

Monday, November 23, 2020

I've seen really bad backgrounds for media interviews done over video and some really good ones. Today I name my 3 stars for backgrounds from Canada's sports reporters.

Monday, November 16, 2020

We're more than eight months into the pandemic. Despite that, many TV networks produce horrible audio quality when interviewing their own people.

Monday, November 9, 2020

I done hundreds and hundreds of interviews, but for a change, I was interviewed. You can listen to it, or download the podcast.

Monday, November 2, 2020

TV networks have fallen into the trap of reading prepared statements on the air. Here's why they should stop.

Monday, October 26, 2020

Dr. Deena Hinshaw is the face of the pandemic in Alberta, but her Twitter account isn't doing her any favours lately.

Monday, October 19, 2020

Health Minister Tyler Shandro pulled the good 'ol Friday Afternoon News Dump trick and got called out for it by some of Alberta's mayors.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Politicians used to answer questions from reporters on a regular basis. Now it seems like answering a question is optional.

Monday, October 5, 2020

I got a COVID test last week and came away feeling better about the testing system than ever before.

Monday, September 28, 2020

A short, but controversial comment from an Alberta RCMP officer, has clearly shown why some people should speak to the media and others shouldn't.

Monday, September 21, 2020

These aren't easy days for Alberta Education Minister Adriana LaGrange. I feel sorry for her and here's why.

Monday, September 14, 2020

For months the COVID numbers being reported by Dr. Deena Hinshaw were taken as gospel. Now she has some competition from an unlikely source.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Alberta's Chief Medical Officer of Health has gone from hero to villain in the minds of many parents almost overnight.

Monday, August 31, 2020

When will things get back to normal? We've hard that question for months. Here's why we shouldn't hold our breath.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Issues management people for the Kenney government in Alberta have been riding Twitter shotgun for their Ministers. Here's why they should stop.

Monday, August 17, 2020

A park and ride lot on Edmonton's far southside sits empty. It should have opened months ago, but it's another City of Edmonton project that won't open on time.

Monday, August 10, 2020

A failed news conference last week by Alberta's Education Minister, showed why she needs to go back to media school.

Wednesday, August 5, 2020

As sports returns, we're learning new ways to do things during the pandemic. Some of them will save us a lot of money.

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

This is the 200th blog I've written. I started just over four years ago and there are a few lessons learned in that time.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7